Teeny-tiny Cupcakes

12 May

For Mother’s Day my mom requested that I bring dessert for lunch.  (I was going to bring the entire dinner, but she didn’t want that 🙂 ) I had been looking at Bakerella’s fabulous site and saw her cupcake bites, I knew that was the perfect dessert!  Mine didn’t turn out quite as cute as her’s, but they were yummy!

Cupcake Bites

Here is Bakerella’s Recipe:

Easy Cupcake Bites
1 box cake mix (cook as directed on box for 13 X 9 cake) I used Strawberry
1 can cream cheese frosting (16 oz.)
1 package chocolate bark (or candy melts for cupcake bottom) I used Almond Bark
Colored Candy Melts (for cupcake top) I used Almond Bark
Candy Cup Mold
Sprinkles and m&ms for decoration

After cake is cooked and cooled completely, crumble into large bowl. (The texture should be fine/fluffy)

Using the back of a large spoon, mix thoroughly with 1 can cream cheese frosting. (It may be easier to use fingers to mix together, but be warned it will get messy.)

Cake + Frosting

Roll mixture into quarter size balls (make sure they are smaller in diameter than that of your candy mold) and lay on wax paper covered cookie sheet.

Chill in the freezer for a few minutes, until they are slightly firm, not frozen.

Melt chocolate bark and candy melts in microwave per directions on package.

Using a spoon or squeeze bottle, fill each mold cavity with a small amount of chocolate. Sorry, I didn’t think to measure how much. But as soon as you fill the cavity, go ahead and place one of your rolled balls into it. Carefully push it down until the force causes the chocolate to push up and fill in around the sides of the ball. You may have to experiment with a couple to get the right amount. Stop pushing once the chocolate reaches the top edge. I filled my cupcakes 3/4 of the way with chocolate.

Cupcake bites

Place the mold tray filled with cupcakes in the freezer for just a few minutes to let the chocolate set. Remove and then gently pull up on the cake ball top to release from candy mold.

Now, holding the bottom of the cupcake, dip the top in another color of melted chocolate.

Decorate.

Cupcakes!

And, probably impress your friends and family.

Makes about 50. Store in an airtight container and they will last for several days.

My mom and grandmother bought me these candy molds a couple of weeks ago.  It was at a large garage sale that had a sale – fill a bag for $1.  They also got me several other molds, I love that they are vintage. 🙂  1974 to be exact.

Molds
 

I took this to John’s mom’s house on Satruday night and everybody loved them.  Even his grandma who isn’t really a sweets person ate probaby 5-7 of them.  Sunday I took them to my parents house and everyone loved them there too!

11 Responses to “Teeny-tiny Cupcakes”

  1. mrsabybaby May 12, 2008 at 11:39 AM #

    You have way more patience than me – these are adorable! : ) I want one now – yummm!!

  2. CB May 12, 2008 at 2:00 PM #

    So freaking adorable! I totally have these on my must-bake list soon. Great job! 🙂

  3. Bakerella May 12, 2008 at 7:17 PM #

    These came out so pretty! I’d love to use them on a post I am doing showcasing other’s cupcake pops/bites. Can I use one of your images with your first name and state? Please email me if you are interested.

    Thanks
    Bakerella

  4. Anne May 14, 2008 at 9:40 AM #

    Pretty, I’ve been meaning to make those! They look awesome.

  5. Helen May 16, 2008 at 9:20 AM #

    Gorgeous. They look sooo cute! Hx

  6. Megan May 16, 2008 at 11:11 AM #

    These will be perfect for my daughter’s birthday party at school! Thanks for the tip!!

  7. whatever DeeDee Wants May 28, 2008 at 9:21 AM #

    They are so cute!

  8. Liz May 28, 2008 at 11:42 PM #

    They are gorgeous! The pink topped ones look like little mushrooms!

  9. HoneyB May 29, 2008 at 11:05 AM #

    Great job! I just bought the mold myself! Can’t wait to try them this way 🙂

  10. Suzy Q-zy June 5, 2008 at 12:36 PM #

    OMG! cakeballs turned into teeny cuppies! I”m in love!

  11. Cassandra November 18, 2008 at 2:35 AM #

    These came out so pretty. I must have read the instructions 100 times . Ill be trying to make some for my mother in laws bday over the weekend wish me luck .

Leave a comment