Nothing New November – Saving Money!

1 Nov

Nothing New November.  It’s something that our friends Brian and Emily have started.  They are trying to get to their savings goal by the end of the year.  It’s really made me think of how wasteful I’ve been with our money lately.  A majority of my maternity leave was unpaid and during that time I did so good on watching our budget and saving extra money. BUT since then, I have done AWFUL with saving money.  We’ve been going out to eat waaay too much and I’ve been buying Elizabeth every cute thing I find.

John has given me a budget of $300 to spend this month (aside from bills, mortgage, etc.) This $300 is for all Walmart trips, food purchases, “fun” things, EVERYTHING!  I’m anxious to see how well I do, but I think I may go over budget…. Hopefully not though!

Why are we doing this hard core saving?  I am sick and tired of having a car payment (and mortgage payment too, but let’s not get crazy yet! 🙂 ).  I have about $7,500 left on my car loan.  I would really really like to get it paid off before May. I know, that seems kinda crazy, especially if you knew how little money we make.  But that’s okay!  I know it will be hard, but I really want to see if we can do it.  I think it will be “fun”, okay, fun really isn’t the right adjective…. It’ll be and adventure though!!

 

So far I haven’t spent any money!  Let’s hope it stays that way for a while!! 🙂

2 Responses to “Nothing New November – Saving Money!”

  1. Laura November 1, 2010 at 4:27 PM #

    You can do it! I’ve had a $300/month budget ever since we got married. It’s for groceries, cleaning supplies, eating out, extras, etc. (We don’t include diapers in that though…that would be tough!) Now, of course there’s some months that we don’t do it perfectly, but it’s so helpful to have that goal. A couple things I’ve found helpful: plan meals for the week and only use cash! Good luck!

  2. RoRo November 2, 2010 at 10:58 AM #

    If anyone can do it my Precious Angel can! So proud of you for taking on this new adventure. It will not be easy, but is do-able. Love YOU!

Leave a Reply

