Mirror, Mirror on the Wall…

13 Oct

I absolutely love my house.  It is the perfect house for us.  But there are some things that just aren’t as pretty as I would like them to be. 🙂  The bathroom mirrors are 1 thing.  There isn’t anything wrong with them, they just don’t have a “wow” factor.

I remembered reading a post Rhoda had done a while back about a cheap and easy way to frame this type of mirror.  I knew I had to try!  I measured my mirror and new the sizes of molding I needed.  I called ahead to Lowe’s and as long at you buy the wood from them, they will cut it into any size you want! Jackpot!  I could do the whole project by myself!  So, off to Lowes I went to get the molding and corner square thingys (yes, that is a technical term).  All of the materials only cost $27!

When I got home, I spray painted the trim and squares.

Then I used my handy dandy hot glue gun to adhere the trim.  I started in the lower left corner because I don’t have any “wiggle room” there.  on the other sides if I’m off a little big it would be okay.  So I started there, then worked my way to the upper right corner. Don’t worry, if you glue it on crooked, it will just pry off, then you can pull the glue off of the wood and mirror.  See –

Isn’t it just beautiful!!  I really do love how it came out!

Give it a try!  The hardest part for me was trying to find a glue gun to borrow at 9:00 at night while I had a sleeping baby. 🙂  Don’t worry, my mom bought me my very own glue gun after this, so now I’ll have one when I need it!

4 Responses to “Mirror, Mirror on the Wall…”

  1. Laura October 13, 2010 at 12:12 PM #

    Okay, I’m totally planning on copying this idea…keep them coming!

  2. Rhoda @ Southern Hospitality October 13, 2010 at 2:23 PM #

    Thanks for sharing & for the shout-out! So glad you tried it & it worked so well. It’s a great little project for updating those mirrors. Yours looks beautiful.

  3. Rhonda October 14, 2010 at 9:10 PM #

    totally impressed with your compliment from Rhoda

    I’ve seen it in person and it really does look nice

  4. kyla October 18, 2010 at 10:17 AM #

    Nina that looks great! I copying this also, my bathroom mirror needs some help!

Leave a Reply

