Homemade Baby Food

12 Oct

This last week I realized something…. baby food is expensive.  Really expensive, 2 servings of Gerber baby food is approximately $1.25!  Which that may not sound like a whole lot, but average 4 servings a day times 7 days a week, 4 weeks a month and it’s $70 for 112 servings (approximately, I’m not the math person in this family).  So, I wanted to try my hand at making baby food.  I’ve heard it’s not hard, so I thought today was a great time to try it during Elizabeth’s nap time.

I bought 2 sweet potatoes at the grocery store.  Peeled them and cut them into cubes.  Then I boiled them until they were very tender, drained the water, and mashed them up in my mixer.  The mixture was a little thick, so I added some formula to make it creamier.

These two tiny potatoes made 14 servings!

Cost of Potatoes – $1.20! divide that by 12 servings and it’s only 10 cents per serving!  So for a month it would be $5.60, but cheaper than the $70 for buying baby food at the store!  And beside the cost benefit, by making the food myself, I know exactly what Elizabeth is eating! (It’s amazing the junk that companies put into food products!!)

If you’re wondering about the cute containers I used for the baby food, my mom got a case of them at a garage sale for really cheap (mom, you need a search bar on your blog so I can find where you posted about them 🙂 ).  They are 2 oz cups and they’ll work perfect for this use.  Also, if I take baby food somewhere, I won’t have to worry about bringing home dirty dishes or losing a lid, etc.  I just love them!

One Response to “Homemade Baby Food”

  1. Laura October 13, 2010 at 12:10 PM #

    We love sweet potatoes at our house too, only I bake them then puree. It’s amazing how much money you can save with just a little effort. I love your little containers too. I freeze ours in ice cube trays and then empty them into a zip-lock to store. Each cube is about 1 ounce, so that helps me know how much to pull out, but the containers would be very handy when you have to take it somewhere!

Leave a Reply

