Red Beans and Rice

22 Sep

Last week John said to me, “Don’t laugh at what I’m about to say… I’m really craving red beans and rice.” And of course I laughed because we never eat beans (except black beans with Mexican food).  But like a good wife ( 🙂 ) I wanted to make him what he wanted.  There was a slight problem though, I didn’t really know what Red Beans & Rice were.  Well, I knew the obvious that is was red beans cooked with rice, but I didn’t know if you were supposed to add anything else or if it was all mixed together or separate. Luckily All Recipes came to my rescue.  They have several recipes for Red Beans and Rice, after looking through a few, I picked one and started cooking!   (I was really excited to find that smoked sausage was an ingredient, yumm!)

Red Beans and rice

Ingredients

  • 1 cup uncooked long-grain white rice
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 16 ounces smoked sausage, thinly sliced
  • 1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans, drained
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained

Directions

  • Bring the rice and water to boil in a pot. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer 20 minutes.(I just cooked minute rice in the microwave.  Secret confession, I’ve never cooked rice on the stove, I’m scared to, but I’m not sure why…)
  • Melt butter in a skillet over medium heat. Stir in onion and green bell pepper, and cook until tender.

  • Stir in sausage, and cook until evenly browned.

  • Mix in beans and tomatoes, and continue cooking until heated through.
  • Serve skillet mixture over the rice.
When I decided to make this meal, I didn’t really know what I was going to eat for dinner.  This didn’t really sound like something I would like.  But after I finished cooking it, I tasted it and it’s really really good!  I ate it for dinner and I took it for lunch the next day.  John and I both made the comment that it was even better the second day.  Although John did really like this recipe, he said this isn’t at all what he thinks Red Beans and Rice is.  (When we go to Louisiana we always go to Catfish King and John and his dad get the Red Beans & Rice for their side.  That’s what he is remembering. )  So if you have a good Red Beans & Rice recipe, let me know, so I can see if it’s what John is wanting!
One Response to “Red Beans and Rice”

  1. zebe912 September 22, 2010 at 8:24 PM #

    If you can find them, try the small red beans rather than kidney beans. The size makes a difference to me and down south they use the small ones. See if your local butcher has a cajun or andoulli sausage too. When I learned to make them in New Orleans they didn’t have tomatoes in them at all but the beans came in sort of a gravy. I haven’t completely figured out how to replicate that without making it an all day long simmering type recipe.

Leave a Reply

