Gardening!

2 May

So, I’ve gotten two “angry” emails this week about my lack of blog updates, so I figured I better start blogging to stop the hate mail. 🙂  Hopefully I’ll get back into the swing of things!

Most of you should remember that John and I just bought a house and moved.  The front garden had a lot to be desired.  Our neighbor told us that no one had ever done anything to it.  Here’s a before picture of it:

There isn’t a whole lot to see, except for a crooked green tree in front of the window.  The larger tree in the yard was taken out before we moved in to the house.  A few weekends ago, John’s dad and step-mom took us to a gardening store to buy some plants for the front flower bed.  We looked and looked until we found the perfect plants.  I’ve since forgotten the names of most of them, sorry. 🙂

Here’s a picture of it now (when I say now, I mean that literally, I just went outside and stood in the rain to capture the pictures, just for each of you! 🙂 ):

I just couldn’t stand to throw the crooked tree away, so we dug it up and planted it on the right corner of the area.  Hopefully it’ll start growing straight!

Here’s a close up of the tree when it was blooming a few weeks ago.

I also got two hydrangea plants for the front porch.  I’m excited to find out if they are going to be blue or pink!  Any guesses?

I know these aren’t the best pictures, but I was getting rained on, so at least I have a good excuse!

(Your turn now Katy. 🙂 )

4 Responses to “Gardening!”

  1. Katy May 2, 2009 at 2:53 PM #

    they better be pink!

  2. Julie May 4, 2009 at 8:12 AM #

    Yay for photos and a blog update! It’s so nice to have you back! 😀

    It depends on the soil… they’re like nature’s litmus paper. We just planted a hydrangea as well, I’m seriously hoping for blue! The neighbor’s have blue ones, so I’ve got a pretty good shot!

  3. jennifer May 5, 2009 at 7:24 AM #

    i’ll second that – yea for the update! your place looks so pretty. 🙂

  4. Katy May 14, 2009 at 9:07 PM #

    you’re about to get more angry emails if you don’t update your blog!

Leave a Reply

