"My" First Thanksgiving!

1 Dec

I survived.  I know with the lack of postings, you may have thought I didn’t survive Thanksgiving, but alas, I did.  If you’re new to my blog, or have forgotten, I hosted my family’s Thanksgiving, at my tiny house!  We had 11 people and 2 dogs. 🙂 

My mom told me I should get a big big turkey, so I bought the largest one I could find…. 23.5 lbs!  Boy was it big!  I tried thawing it in my sink.

I forgot how tiny my sink is, so I had to move it to the bathtub so I could cover it with water.  I borrowed a larger roaster from a coworker to cook it it, but it was just a smidge too small (imagine that!).  So instead of using the lid, I just wrapped the top with foil.

Thanksgiving was really crazy once everyone showed up, but I managed to get a few food pictures.

My mom brought the mashed potatoes…. Actually she forgot the potatoes at her house and my dad had to go back and get them before we could eat….. luckily, we don’t live too far apart.  When she made the potatoes, she just pick a stick of butter on top to melt in the potatoes… here’s what it looked like when we opened the dish… too funny!!  Paula Deen would be so proud! 🙂

All in all, I think Thanksgiving was a success, my biggest disaster was slightly burnt rolls.  Everyone commented on how nice it was and how yummy the food was, so I think that counts as a success! 

We also took some family pictures after we ate.  I think the most recent family picture we have (not including wedding pictures) I was about 5 or 6 in.

Yes…. that is a mohawk on one of my brothers……

We also took a “girls only” picture.  This one is my favorite.  My grandma (RoRo) is cracking up about something, and Zerbie looks like she’s laughing too.

I hope everyone’s Thanksgiving was as happy and great as mine was!!

5 Responses to “"My" First Thanksgiving!”

  1. Rhonda December 1, 2008 at 1:08 AM #

    correction – your DAD forgot the potatoes….my area of responsibility was cooking, his responsibility was carrying to the car 🙂

    it was a fun day, thanks to you and John for hosting us all.

  2. Julie December 1, 2008 at 5:34 PM #

    How cute! Everything looks like it was great, love the photos! I wish my family had thought to do that. 🙂 Maybe next year.

  3. CB December 1, 2008 at 8:12 PM #

    That mash potato picture is hilarious. Butter (and bacon) make everything better! HAHA. Love the family photos. Happy (belated) Thanksgiving to you and your family!
    /Clara

  4. zebe912 December 1, 2008 at 10:17 PM #

    Hahaha, I love your mom’s comment up above! It is great that you all took pictures. We never seem to remember.

  5. RoRo December 1, 2008 at 10:53 PM #

    RoRo and Pa are so very proud of our newly married grdau for hostessing all our family for turkey day and thanks to John for being a good sport as host. The food was scrumptious- delish. Speaking of our hostess, Nina, she was absolutely the cutest in her little apron styled by her mother. Why no picture? I could have just looked at you and not eaten a bite! You looked so-so precious just as you are! My thanks to you and John.

Leave a Reply

