CEiMB – Turkey Roulade

6 Nov

It’s CEiMB – Craving Ellie in My Belly time!!

I looked and looked, all over my town, and couldn’t find whole turkey breasts. All I could find were tiny turkey breast medallions, they were like 2 inches in diameter so I knew they wouldn’t work, so I used chicken breasts instead. Last night was certainly very very interesting while cooking the roulade. But I’ll get to that in a little bit.

Holly from Phe/MOM/enon picked this excellent recipe!

TurkeyChicken Roulade with Apple-Cider Gravy
1 (2 1/2-pound) skinless turkey Chicken breast, butterflied
1/2 cup dried cranberries
2 tablespoons canola oil, divided
1/2 large onion, diced (about 1 1/2 cups), plus 1 cup sliced onion (I read through the list of ingredients too fast, and only bought 1 onion)
2 large garlic cloves, minced
5 slices day-old whole-wheat bread, crusts removed, cubed (about 2 1/2 cups) (I just used regular bread)
1/3 cup lightly toasted chopped pecans
2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons fresh crumbled sage or 3 teaspoons dried, divided (turns out I have every spice in the world EXCEPT sage, so I just used some Garlic and Wine seasoning)
1 1/2 cups low-sodium chicken broth, divided
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 cup apple cider
3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar (I only used about 2 tablespoons)
1 teaspoon cornstarch dissolved in 1 tablespoon cold water

Special equipment: kitchen twine (I couldn’t find those in my town, so I just used skewers.)

Place the turkey breast between 2 sheets of plastic wrap and pound lightly with a meat mallet to an even thickness of about 3/4-inch. Set aside while stuffing is prepared.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Toast the pecans in a small skillet over medium heat, about 2-3 minutes, until they become fragrant.

Place the cranberries in a small saucepan and cover with water. Bring to a boil, cook for 1 minute, then remove from heat, drain and reserve. .

Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Add the diced onions and cook, stirring, until onions are golden but not charred, about 12 to 15 minutes. Add the garlic and cook an additional 2 to 3 minutes.Add bread, cranberries, pecans, 2 tablespoons fresh or 2 teaspoons dried sage and 1/2 to 3/4-cup chicken stock, depending upon consistency of stuffing; (you want the mixture to be moistened, but not too wet, since the turkey will release moisture when cooked). Cook over low heat for about 2 to 3 minutes, remove from heat.  I had extra stuffing, so I put in a pan and cooked it for about 15-20 minutes.

Salt and pepper the inside and outside of the turkey breast. Spread the stuffing on the turkey, leaving about 1 1/2 to 2-inches uncovered on all sides. Roll up and secure tightly with kitchen twine skewers, trying to keep all stuffing intact.

Okay, so here’s where hubby started to get annoyed with me.  I kind of forgot the next step (searing the chicken in the pan) and just put the chicken in the roasting pan and into the oven.  About 5 minutes later I realized, OOPS! we have to get the chicken out and sear it, lol!

Heat 1 tablespoon of canola oil in a large Dutch oven or medium-sized roasting pan until hot. Sear stuffed turkey breast on all sides until lightly browned, 3 to 4 minutes per side.

Add sliced onion and 1 1/2 cups chicken stock, cover tightly and roast in the oven until turkey reaches 160 degrees F when an instant-read thermometer is inserted into inner layer of meat, about 60 to 65 minutes.

Right before it was time to remove the chicken from the oven and start the gravy, our electricity went out!!  Did I mention that there were insane storms last night and we were under a tornado watch?  Yes, that’s why my pictures are awful!  (At least that’s the excuse I’m going with. 🙂 )

Remove the turkey breast from oven and transfer to a cutting board to rest.

Make the gravy:
Add apple cider, 1/2 cup chicken stock, vinegar and remaining sage to the onions, chicken stock and juices in the roasting pan, bring to a boil and cook for approximately 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until liquid is reduced by 1/3. Slowly add the cornstarch mixture, stirring constantly, and cook for 3 minutes more. The gravy should not be thick, just slightly thicker than a jus. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Makes 1 1/2 cups gravy.

Finally! The electricity is back on!  Yayyyy!!!!!

Remove twine from turkey breast and slice into 1 1/2-inch thick pieces. Serve with gravy.

Okay, so here’s the review.  John and I liked the chicken and stuffing (smaller cranberry pieces next time though) but we didn’t like the apple cider gravy at all.  I guess we aren’t “fruity gravy” kind of people.  I will definetly make it again with regular gravy though.

Don’t forget to check out everyone else’s dishes!

6 Responses to “CEiMB – Turkey Roulade”

  1. girl4duke November 6, 2008 at 1:14 PM #

    Sorry to hear about the crazy storms and power outage, but it looks like you managed! 🙂

  2. CB November 6, 2008 at 7:25 PM #

    Your power went out?? YIKES! Way to keep on truckin’ and make your chicken roulade. I like the chicken breast sub idea. Might have to try that next time! My T loves his chicken 🙂 Bummer you weren’t a gravy fan. I thought it was awesome! Not sure if the apple juice/cider switcheroo had anything to do with it.
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  3. Natalie November 6, 2008 at 11:07 PM #

    I am sure that the chicken was good too. Yours looked great.

  4. Marthe November 7, 2008 at 6:28 AM #

    Yum, this looks great!! Double thumbs up for completing the dish without the electricity!! Now I feel even worse about not making the dish!

  5. Heather B November 7, 2008 at 10:53 AM #

    way to keep going! I would have probably chucked it after the power going out! I bet this was tasty with the chicken! Great job.

  6. Jacque November 7, 2008 at 10:27 PM #

    I sure looks good! Way better than the dinner I had 🙂

Leave a Reply

