More Fall Decorating…

14 Oct

Hopefully y’all aren’t tired of hearing about my decorating yet.  You see, our family’s THANKSGIVING DINNER is going to be at MY HOUSE this year.  I know!  I think this makes me an official grown-up now.  I’m pulling out all the whistles to try and make it great, which includes endless fall decorating.  I have these hopes that it’ll look like it came out of a magazine when I finish, but I highy doubt it’ll look that good. 

So, after going to the pumpkin patch I decided to put the pumpkins up in the corner shelves in my dining room.  I love these two shelves, they look great decorated for any season.

Here is my dining room:

Here’s a close up of the two corner cabinets.  I wish I have a few more pumpkins… maybe I can talk John into going back to the pumpkin patch…. hee hee

After seeing my small dining room, you may be wondering where I am going to put the 11-15 people expected?  Well, my table fits 8 people, then I’m planning on setting up a long “card table” infront of the table…. We’ll see how it all turns out!!

While looking at some blogs last week, I saw Kelli’s idea for the cutest little acorns.  I knew I had to make some for my house too.  After much searching, I finally found some huge acorns! 

Now, this is not a “quick and easy” project.  But it was a blast.  The instructions are on her site.  The only other tip I have is to either “bake” the acorns for an hour at 200 degrees, or freeze them for 48 hours to kill all the worms.  gross!

Oh yea, you might want to warn anyone who doesn’t want glitter on them, to leave the house for a few days, both my hubby and Zerbie have glitter coverings. hee hee.

11 Responses to “More Fall Decorating…”

  1. Kyla October 14, 2008 at 9:13 AM #

    The turned out really cute!

  2. CB October 14, 2008 at 10:15 AM #

    Oh wow. I love your formal dining room. Those built-ins are great!! Hilarious about the glitter. Poor J and Zerbie. HAHA.
    /Clara

  3. Julie October 14, 2008 at 10:26 AM #

    I so wish we had some corner cabinets like that! They are wonderful!

    What? J and Zerbie don’t like being all sparkly??

  4. Lisa magicsprinkles October 14, 2008 at 10:27 AM #

    Very cute! Thanks for sharing your special room with us!

  5. BBKiddo October 14, 2008 at 10:27 AM #

    Your house is beautiful! It totally does look like a maganize 🙂

  6. NinaBeth October 14, 2008 at 10:42 AM #

    BB – thanks! 🙂 Now if only my house looked like your new house…. hee hee

  7. Rhonda October 14, 2008 at 1:23 PM #

    your corner cabinets look really pretty!

    and there will probably be some “really important:” football game on that the guys will want to watch so they can eat at the card table.

  8. Emilie October 14, 2008 at 7:50 PM #

    I came over from your mom’s blog… YES bake the acorns! I learned the hard way… actually I worked for a shop that learned the hard way – MOTHS!

  9. RoRo October 15, 2008 at 4:17 PM #

    Love your Fall decorating and the glittered acorns are adorable. So glad you are blogging again. And if the guys are all at the card table we can have a “just girls” Thanksgiving party…on second thought we will not exclude any of the guys as we love, love each and every one of them!

  10. RoRo October 15, 2008 at 4:18 PM #

    You know “sweet John” will go get you another load of pumpkins!

  11. Dawn October 15, 2008 at 4:37 PM #

    The pumpkins in the corners are wonderful. I love the glittered acorns. Dh’s hunting club has a few trees full of the big acorns. Looks like we will be acorn hunting next week.

Leave a Reply

