A hunting we will go, a hunting we will go…

9 Oct

Heigh ho, the dairy-o, a hunting we will go…  Okay, we didn’t go hunting for animals, just for “nature-y”.  I have these two glass jars on my mantle that need filled with something.  One of them is huuge, so I knew anything I would buy would cost a fortune.  So, as I began thinking about things I can fill these jars with, I started thinking about “real” things.  So, I bribed my little sisters into helping me gather items (since they are only 2 feet from the ground, I figured it’d be easier for them to bend to pick things up 😀 ).  We came home with 5 bags full of stuff.  (I got to keep 3 bags, and Amanda filled 2 bags with things for her room. 🙂 )  Here are some fun pictures we took during the evening.

We went to a nature walk and fund a blue and gold (the local high school’s colors) wagon.  I’m not real sure why it was there (looks pretty out of place), but I knew it would make for cute pictures, so I had the girls pose for me.

Hannah (the older one with brown hair) was so funny.  She was so afraid the bridges would collapse.  These weren’t flimsy looking bridges either.  But, I finally convinced her it would be okay (after Amanda bounced all the way across to check it’s sturdiness 🙂 )

The was a huuuge hill that Hannah had fun running up and down.

Amanda wanted to carry ALL of the bags.  I wasn’t going to stop her. 🙂  She kept swinging the bags singin’ “I’ve just been shoppin’, shoppin’.”  (Patti, the next time she wants to go shopping, just bring her to the nature walk. 🙂  )

Patti gave us money to go eat after our gathering.  I was soo proud the girls choose to eat at Subway all by theirselves!  This picture cracks me up.

So, What did we gather? 

The “W” is something we used for wedding decorations on our candy buffet.  I thought it matched the “fall theme” perfectly!  Here’s a shot of our whole mantle decorated.

The only thing that was bought this year is the bigger glass vase and the two scarecrows in the wreath.  Everything else was either from my mom’s fall decoration stash or just things from other parts of my house.   Here is the story about the wreath.

Stay tuned for other fall decorations… we’re going to the PUNKIN’ PATCH tonight.  (I’m slightly excited, can you tell? 🙂  )

Blog updates, two days in a row!  Aren’t you proud of me! 🙂

6 Responses to “A hunting we will go, a hunting we will go…”

  1. Julie October 9, 2008 at 12:19 PM #

    Yay for fall decorations!
    You reminded me that I should get mine out too!

  2. nikki57 October 9, 2008 at 12:56 PM #

    aww cute!

  3. CB October 9, 2008 at 2:52 PM #

    I am in the mood for autumn now. Love the mantle. Now I want a HUGE jar to fill things with and maybe I’ll borrow your sisters to help me too 😉
    /Clara

  4. mrsabybaby October 9, 2008 at 3:53 PM #

    Aw, so cute! I love decorating for fall. It makes me happy. Fall decorating and pumpkin candles. Mmm… : )

  5. Rhonda October 9, 2008 at 6:55 PM #

    Ninabeth, your mantle looks great!

    Kris came over there tonight and brought back my dishes, I asked her if they have any oak trees where her parents live, since it is called “Acorn Lane’ She said no oaks, just Cedars!

    Your pine cones and green pecans? are perfect though.

  6. RoRo October 10, 2008 at 7:40 AM #

    You and your “little sisters” had a FUN outing and it didn’t cost a dime!

Leave a Reply

