What do you do with cake scraps?

3 Sep

If you’re like me, you hate wasting food.  Every time I level off a cake, I wonder what to do with the “hump” that comes off the top of the cake.  Sometimes John and I will eat part of it with leftover icing, but more often then not, it gets put in the trash can. Not anymore though!! 

I decided to make cake balls!  Just crumble up the cake really fine into a large bowl, stir in frosting until you get the desired consistincy.  Roll into balls and freeze them.  Then dip them in melted candy melts.  Super easy!  I sent these with John to a Coaches meeting so I decorated these in the football teams colors.  Go Pioneers!

John told me all of the coaches loooved them, so I will definetely keep them in mind the next time I have cake scraps.  John prefers eating these frozen, so that’s where we store them.

5 Responses to “What do you do with cake scraps?”

  1. Michele September 3, 2008 at 7:33 PM #

    Nina – these sound great! I want to bake a cake just to try them now! 🙂

  2. CB September 3, 2008 at 9:08 PM #

    What a great idea! I’ll have to remember that the next time I go tailgating!
    /Clara

  3. Kim September 4, 2008 at 12:46 AM #

    I love cake balls, and make them with my cake scraps….yours are pretty!!!

  4. zebe912 September 16, 2008 at 2:03 PM #

    I love eating cake scraps more than regular cake. I eat them as I’m decorating and we save them to snack on after. I don’t DO anything to them. But for whatever reason, I like them more than cake. We freeze every cake before we decorate to loosen the crumbs and I think that must be what makes the cake scraps so moist & yummy.

    I actually have a friend who gets excited any time I have a wedding cake to make, because he knows he’ll get a delivery of cake scraps to munch on. Scraps have actually been his birthday “cake” before too!

  5. LaKesha January 23, 2010 at 11:25 PM #

    i’m going to try those cake balls and make cake pops also but have u tried using a dry towel and smash on top of the cake right after it comes out of the oven.that takes that dome off and you will never have to level your cake.

Leave a Reply

