Catching Up!

18 Jun

Hopefully I haven’t lost all of my reader’s by now… I know it’s been 12 days since my last post, which is like 15 years in blogging time, but never fear, I am back. 🙂  So, what has kept be busy for so long?  We’ll the day after my last post John and I headed to Lake Dardanelle to suprise my grandparents (That’s what the Cupcake Flavor Search was in regards to).  Every year they head up to the Lake with several extended family members for a week long camping trip.  It was a lot of fun!  We got the chance to hang out with several cousins (?) that we’ve never really been around and they are all such fun people.  John and I are hoping to be able to go back next year and stay longer than just the weekend.

(Please don’t look at my gross hair.  I forgot to pack shampoo, so I had to use Joy dish soap on my hair, lol!)

So, what kind of cupcakes did I make?  Well, I forgot to stop at the store on my way home to pick up some ingredients needed for the amazing recipes mentioned, so I kind of made my own version of strawberry cupcakes.  These aren’t as pretty as the master CB‘s, but I think they are pretty still.

Last week was my birthday and John was so sweet.  He woke up early and made me breakfast: sausage, biscuits, and eggs (my favorite).  Then when I got home from work, I found this on the table:

I had printed off a pretzel recipe that I found on a blog and have been wanting to try them.  He found it and decided to try making them.  Apparently, “they are very easy and taste amazing out of the oven.”  I just warmed mine up in the microwave for a couple minutes and they were delish.

Then my allergy problems hit.  I have never ever had problems with allergies until this year.  They are just awful!  So, being the dr phobe that I am, I waited and waited and waited to go to the dr until Monday.  Turns out I had a fever, major sinus/allergy problems, and 2 borderline ear infections, yuck.  But thankfully I’m feeling better now, thanks for asking. 🙂

So, that’s been my life for the past 12 days, hopefully it won’t be 12 more before I have another update. 🙂

 

7 Responses to “Catching Up!”

  1. CB June 18, 2008 at 9:28 AM #

    Joy dish soap? uh… i think this is why I don’t camp! My hair needs pantene! HAHA. Of course I love the cupcakes. J is just too cute with those pretzels. 🙂
    PS. Don’t ever go 12 days without a BU again!! It aint right! 😉
    /Clara

  2. Rhonda in OK June 18, 2008 at 9:50 AM #

    Pretzels sound yummy!
    John called me with a baking soda question and I guessed he was baking you something on your birthday but he would not fess up to what he was doing.

  3. zebe912 June 18, 2008 at 5:36 PM #

    I love that he tried out a recipe you wanted to make. B would never think to do such a thing. 😦 If C is the master of cupcakes, can I at least be the master of big cakes? I’ve been decorating since before some of you were born!

  4. RoRo June 19, 2008 at 10:11 AM #

    What a surprise when our Nina and John showed up at Lake Dardanelle and we all loved-loved having you, just wish your visit could have stayed longer. All my extended family members thought you were the cutest newlyweds – and I agree with you they are fun people to be with. Our total count for the channel and blue gill catfish was 543 which is a bunch of fish to trim and package for the freezer. Now that I have you and Kathy trained Bert and I will have some needed relief next year!!! Your beautiful cupcakes were yummy good and I loved showing off your skills to my family. I’m sorry you have been so sick and bless John for your pretzel surprise….Love you both…forever and forever.

  5. RoRo June 19, 2008 at 10:18 AM #

    Who is that skinny guy with his arm around RoRo?? – great job, John. And another skinny guy beside his grdau – Pa, your walking shows… Three cheers for Pa and John.

  6. Julie June 19, 2008 at 12:11 PM #

    Glad you’re feeling better!

    Looks like it’s been busy for you, but glad you’ve updated us! 🙂

  7. Alanna June 24, 2008 at 4:23 PM #

    Wow, what an awesome hubs!!! The pretzels look great. And your cupcakes are SO pretty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

