VTV – Spinach Salad

30 May

Jen is my brand new co-host for VTV chose Spinach as this week’s veggie.  A few years ago I didn’t think I liked spinach.  The only time I ever had spinach was the frozen kind that my dad liked to cook in vinegar (? I don’t know if that’s what it was, but that’s what it smelled like).  Yucky!  Then, when I met John I started having dinner at his parents house.  Eating at someone else’s house is always somewhat adventurous… what happens if they cook something I don’t like?  Do I suck it up and eat it or politely pass on the dish?  Well, soon after John and I started dating his step-mom Patti made spinach salad… hmmm, what should I do.  Should I eat it polietly or just pass?  Well, I decided to take a small helping of it, and guess what? I loved it!  I use spinach in most all of my salads now.  So I present to you, Patti’s spinach salad that changed my mind. 🙂

Mandarin Orange Spinach Salad

Spinach (I used 3/4 of a bag)
1/4 cup oil
1/8 cup red wine vinegar (I didn’t have any, so I used balasamic vinegar)
1/2 cup candied almonds (I used pecans since that’s what I had)
1 can mandarin oranges

To candy the nuts, put 3 tablespoons of sugar into a nonstick skillet and turn onto medium-high heat. When most of the sugar is glossy and melted, add the nuts.  (I added several handfuls of pecans) Stir to coat, then slip onto a piece of wadded aluminum foil.  Caution: These are very very hot when they come out of the skillet.

nuts

Assemble the salad at the very last moment so the dressing doesn’t make the spinach too soggy, enjoy!

4 Responses to “VTV – Spinach Salad”

  1. mrsabybaby May 30, 2008 at 3:01 PM #

    I absolutely adore spinach in salads! I also eat it on Subway sandwiches to get a little extra veggie in me. : ) YUMMY looking picture!

  2. Dawn May 30, 2008 at 6:48 PM #

    Raw spinach tastes so much different from cooked. My dh hates the cooked kind but will eat it raw any day.

  3. Kyla June 2, 2008 at 9:22 AM #

    Hey Guess what? I am growing spinach at my house!! Yummy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spinach Round Up! « Vindicate the Vegetable! - June 2, 2008

    […] Love Sweet Love made Spinach Salad […]

Leave a Reply

