Cake Class!

14 May

I know I haven’t posted in a couple weeks what we’ve been learning in cake class, but that’s because it took us 2 weeks to make this cake!

Cake!

We each had a layer to decorate.  I got to decorate the top 2 layers.  The swags and I weren’t getting along very well, but I looooved doing the stringwork with royal icing.

We were going to take a group picture with the cake, but my stupid batteries died… oh well, we’ll get a group picture tomorrow.

Tomorrow we are making a Whimsical (Topsy Turvy) cake. 

9 Responses to “Cake Class!”

  1. CB May 14, 2008 at 1:13 PM #

    Wow. What a gorgeous cake! You totally outdid yourself. Personally I think the top 2 layers are the best ones 😉 You have kicked my butt and surpassed my knowledge in the cake decorating contest. Great job!

  2. Kristina May 14, 2008 at 3:41 PM #

    It looks great! I can’t wait to see how the topsy turvy cake turns out!

  3. zebe912 May 14, 2008 at 5:41 PM #

    Pretty!! String work is a pain in my….I hate it. I think you’ve got a head start on your topsy turvy cake with those ruffles on the top layer 😉 Just kidding.

  4. zebe912 May 14, 2008 at 5:42 PM #

    And wait, no one told me there was a cake decorating contest 😦 I suppose i got disqualified for prior knowledge or something.

  5. RoRo May 14, 2008 at 8:25 PM #

    What in the world is string work. Your roses are beautiful – at least I recognized roses!

  6. andrea May 14, 2008 at 8:34 PM #

    wow nina. that is way impressive. excellent work!!

  7. Natalie May 14, 2008 at 9:38 PM #

    Gorgeous cake – that would be soooo much fun 🙂

  8. Julie May 15, 2008 at 8:00 AM #

    BEAUTIFUL! You go girl! 😀

  9. NinaBeth May 15, 2008 at 8:48 AM #

    CB: I highly doubt that I’m better than you, we just make bigger cakes in our class. No more sissy 2 layer cakes. 🙂

    Kristina: Thanks, me too, I’m excited for it!

    Zebe: It’s not a real contest, we are just both doing the same level of classes.

    Ro: The string work are the curved lines near the top of each layer right above the ruffles.

    Andrea, Natalie, Julie: Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

