Bison Tacos!

22 Apr

This weekend John and I decided to go to the local Farmer’s Market. I live in a fairly small town, so the farmers market is pretty small, but something is better than nothing right?

We looked at all the booths (all 12-14 of them 🙂 ) and one lady selling bison caught our eye. So, John went to talk to her about bison meat. She was saying that it’s much healthier than beef (fewer calories, lower in fat, more nutrients, etc.). So, she sold John 2 lbs of ground bison. I cooked 1 lb last night for tacos. I just browned the meat in the skillet (like hamburger meat) and used some taco seasonings.

The bison was really good! There wasn’t much of a flavor distinction between the bison and beef. I think the bison has a richer taste, but that’s about it. I also like buying local, fresh products. All of the things sold at our farmers market has to be sold either in the county I live in, or a county that touches it. I like buying something that came from a couple towns over, instead of half-way across the country.

Bison Tacos

I found this chart at Bison Central about the the nutrient information in Bison meat.

7 Responses to “Bison Tacos!”

  1. mrsabybaby April 22, 2008 at 8:30 AM #

    Very interesting! I was curious to get on here today to see how they turned out. : ) Not sure I can do it myself yet, but you are persuading me somewhat to try new things. : )

  2. BBKiddo April 22, 2008 at 10:13 AM #

    Wow, I am so amazed that bison has much less fat than chicken. I think I will be on the looked out for some bison 😉

  3. CB April 22, 2008 at 12:08 PM #

    Bison…? interesting. Crazy about the nutritional comparison. I wonder where I can get me some bison 😉

  4. beth April 22, 2008 at 7:23 PM #

    I’ve seen lamb at my farmers market, I’ll have to look for bison and give it a try

  5. Rhonda a.k.a Nina's Momma April 22, 2008 at 8:43 PM #

    hmmm, is Bison meat the same thing as Buffalo meat?

  6. RoRo April 23, 2008 at 10:39 AM #

    Wow – bison meat sure has less fat than beef. It would surely be something new to try – you’ve nearly convinced me.

  7. rik August 20, 2010 at 5:24 PM #

    North American Bison is commonly referred to as buffalo.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Bison

    It is an amazing animal, that was a prime source of protein for many Native Americans, and is quite delicious.

Leave a Reply

