VTV – Week 2 – Artichoke

21 Apr

VTV

I have never eaten fresh artichoke.  I have had a few recipes that called for canned artichoke hearts, but none that used fresh artichoke.  When my husband and I were shopping last weekend we decided we would try fresh artichoke.

While looking for recipes, I wanted to find something that was somewhat healthy.  Much to my dismay though all the recipes were soaking in butter and cheeses.  I decided to just so simple and steam the artichokes then make some garlic butter to dip the leaves in.

Artichoke prep

I suggest having a man handy for this step.  I did it myself, but it would have been much easier if I would’ve asked for John’s help.  First, trim the tip of each leaf.  Then cut off the top 1/2 (that’s the hard part).  Lastly, cut off the stem. 

I just placed my steamer basket into a pot that had 1/2-1 inch of water in it.  Then I cooked over medium heat for about 15-20 minutes.

Steaming Artichokes

Overall, these are not my favorite veggie.  I’m glad that I tried them, however I do think I’ll be sticking to the canned variety. 🙂

Artichoke

Check out the VTV roundup that will be posted on April 21.

2 Responses to “VTV – Week 2 – Artichoke”

  1. RoRo April 21, 2008 at 4:34 PM #

    Nina, Aunt Bernice used to make a delicious veggie salad using canned and I think pickled artichoke and it was so good. No, I don’t have the recipe – wish I had gotten a lot of her recipes before U. Jr. sold her recipe box in the estate sale…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Artichoke Round-Up « Vindicate the Vegetable! - April 21, 2008

    […] Love Sweet Love […]

Leave a Reply

