Cake Course 2, Class 1

18 Apr

Oh my goodness.  I am in love with my new teacher. (Okay, so probably not really, but she is ahmazing!)  I know this class is going to be great!  She has so much knowledge that she can share with us, I’m excited.

Tonight we didn’t make a cake, but instead we made flowers!

Here are my fondant calla lilies:

Calla Lillies

Here are my fondant Apple Blossoms:

Apple Blossoms

Here are my fondant violets:

Violets

Here are my gumpaste sweet peas:

Sweet Peas

My horrible fondant carnation:

Carnation

And next week we are making a fondant bow.  We had to make the loops this week to allow them time to dry.  Make sure you check back next week to see the finished bow.

Fondant Loops

I love my flowers, but I have no idea to do with them.  I would feel horrible just throwing them away.   Any ideas on what to do with them? Leave me a comment.

10 Responses to “Cake Course 2, Class 1”

  1. KT April 18, 2008 at 9:41 AM #

    Make a cake and decorate it with the flowers…then feed it to people at work 🙂

  2. Rhonda in OK April 18, 2008 at 9:42 AM #

    I am really impressed. You did a great job.

    I guess you could have a party and decorate a cake with them.

    Your calla lilies remind me of the ones in our yard in California, do you remember them?

  3. Chelle April 18, 2008 at 9:54 AM #

    Beautiful! My last class of Course 1 is next week, I’m having so much fun, I can’t wait to move on!

  4. Jamie April 18, 2008 at 9:57 AM #

    Awesome!! Those look amazing. Even your “horrible” carnation looked pretty fantastic. It’s amazing what you can do with cakes.

    Maybe you could make a cute boquet for a small cake just for fun?! Anyone’s birthday coming up??

  5. RoRo April 18, 2008 at 10:53 AM #

    I would say all the flowers are gorgeous, with the calla lily being my favorite. You surely have a knack for this cake decorating so keep on ‘icing”. My birthday is in November….

  6. CB April 18, 2008 at 11:57 AM #

    I love all the flowers! We didn’t learn some of those in Wilton. Now I am jealous. Great job!
    Clara

  7. Anne April 18, 2008 at 12:07 PM #

    Those flowers are gorgeous- great job! (I barely passed course one, I should really go back and try again, I love seeing all this awesome stuff!)

  8. zebe912 April 18, 2008 at 12:55 PM #

    You’re supposed to decorate a cake with your flowers, silly. You can always top cupcakes with them too…

  9. Karen April 18, 2008 at 3:32 PM #

    Amazing! I am totally impressed. And now I really want to take a class. Thanks for the inspiration!

  10. andrea April 19, 2008 at 10:45 AM #

    Those are boooootiful Nina! I know what you can do with those lovely little blooms. You can make a cake, put on the flowers, and send it to me!

Leave a Reply

