Butter!

25 Mar

Last night as I was reading my favorite blogs, I noticed Nikki had made butter!  I was completely shocked at how easy making butter really is.  While talking to Nikki today, I mentioned that I had a container of whole cream in my fridge that was past dated and she should’ve posted this sooner so I could make it.  Nikki told me to go home and smell the cream, that as long as it didn’t smell sour it was still good.  Yay!!  So, I rushed home at lunch and found the cream.  My lucky day!  The cream had no smell so it was still good.

First I poured my 1 pint of heavy cream into my mixer.

Cream

Then after a couple of minutes of whipping it on medium high for a couple minutes it turned into whipped cream.

Whipped cream

 Then it got to be really really thick whipped creamish.

Thick Cream

Almost butter!

Almost there....

Butter and Buttermilk!

Butter!

 Then, you have to put the butter into a cloth to strain the remaining buttermilk.

Ready to strain

And finally you have real butter!

Butter!

Stupid me couldn’t find any crackers at the house to taste this yummy butter, but I hear it is delicious.  Check back tomorrow to see what I’m going to make to tonight to eat with it. 🙂

7 Responses to “Butter!”

  1. KT March 25, 2008 at 1:07 PM #

    Why waste the buttermilk……..make pancakes!

  2. nikki57 March 25, 2008 at 3:26 PM #

    Yay Nina good job my little jedi 😛

  3. NinaBeth March 25, 2008 at 3:49 PM #

    KT: Don’t you worry I have the buttermilk saved for something. 🙂

    Nikki: I’m such a follower….

  4. CB March 25, 2008 at 4:42 PM #

    wow. muy impressive. do you know if I can use 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream to make butter? Me wanna try but I am too lazy to go to the store for cream.

  5. Motherhood for Dummies March 25, 2008 at 4:42 PM #

    oh fun i will have to try

  6. Kyla March 26, 2008 at 8:12 AM #

    I used to make this when I was little with my dad. But we used a jar and shook it. It took forever. I love real homemade butter. Yummy.

  7. rebekka April 15, 2008 at 8:53 AM #

    I love homemade butter, yum!

Leave a Reply

