May I interuppt your blogging momentarily…

8 Mar

So, I heard this song on the radio last week.  It really hit home hard for me.  I feel like my whole life I’ve been waiting for that next big thing (turning 16, graduating High School, graduating College, getting a job, getting married, etc.) and I have never been truly happy with where I am currently in my life.  I need to just be 100% happy in my current “life position”.  Surely I’m not the only person like this? Am I?  If you have any ideas too help me not anxiously look foward to “the next step” let me know, leave me a comment.

(There were many wonderful YouTube videos, but I had to choose the one about One Tree Hill, it’s my guilty pleasure, I love it!)

You’re Gonna Miss This by Trace Adkins

She was staring out the window of that SUV
Complaning, saying “I can’t wait to turn 18”
She said “I’ll make my own money, and I’ll make my own rules”
Mamma put the car in park out there in front of the school
Then she kissed her head and said “I was just like you”

You’re gonna miss this
You’re gonna want this back
You’re gonna wish these days hadn’t gone by so fast
These are some good times
So take a good look around
You may not know it now
But you’re gonna miss this

Before she knows it she’s a brand new bride
In a one-bedroom apartment, and her daddy stops by
He tells her “It’s a nice place”
She says “It’ll do for now”
Starts talking about babies and buying a house
Daddy shakes his head and says “Baby, just slow down”

Cause you’re gonna miss this
You’re gonna want this back
You’re gonna wish these days hadn’t gone by so fast
These are some good times
So take a good look around
You may not know it now
But you’re gonna miss this

Five years later there’s a plumber workin’ on the water heater
Dog’s barkin’, phone’s ringin’
One kid’s cryin’, one kid’s screamin’
She keeps apologizin’
He says “They don’t bother me.
I’ve got 2 babies of my own.
One’s 36, one’s 23.
Huh, it’s hard to believe, but …

You’re gonna miss this
You’re gonna want this back
You’re gonna wish these days hadn’t gone by so fast
These are some good times
So take a good look around
You may not know it now
But you’re gonna miss this”

8 Responses to “May I interuppt your blogging momentarily…”

  1. nikki57 March 8, 2008 at 8:19 PM #

    Awwww cheesy goodness. Makes me all emotional and crap

  2. NinaBeth March 8, 2008 at 8:22 PM #

    Nikki: lol! I love the fact that you used cheesy, emotional, and crap all in the same sentance. 😀

  3. CB March 8, 2008 at 8:44 PM #

    You are not alone sister.

    I have no idea what I am doing with my life and I am constantly searching for the next step but I think its important to enjoy the journey too. Stay on your chosen path and you’ll find your way…

  4. CB March 8, 2008 at 8:44 PM #

    ^ dang talk about cheesy! haha

  5. Julie March 8, 2008 at 10:13 PM #

    I second Nikki… seriously almost cried… what’s wrong with me!?!?!?

  6. zebe912 March 9, 2008 at 8:32 AM #

    That’s an awesome song (other than it being country). I see this becoming big in music therapy sessions around the country. Teen centers would use it I’m sure.

    Anyway, I’m the same way. I like knowing what is coming and being able to plan ahead (or brace myself). I know that we’re going to move, have kids, change jobs, etc. and I have to work really hard to not worry about it and try not to over plan it now. It will all end up different when the time comes, anyway.

    I’m checking out a new audio book about being happy in the here & now without being perfect. Once I listen to some, I’ll let you know whether it seems worth checking out or not.

  7. megan March 9, 2008 at 7:25 PM #

    Those are such true words! Dont wish it away. It goes by quickly enough.Life is the journey!

  8. Alanna March 10, 2008 at 4:14 PM #

    I’ve been there too, Nina!!! I finally feel that I’m at a point in my life where I am really truly happy. I am sure getting my new job was the final topper on that one, but still. It helps to just think about all the things about your life that you love, and not the things that you don’t have right now. Remember, the grass is always greener on the other side…someday, you’ll be looking back on these times and remembering how wonderful they were. 🙂

Leave a Reply

