Banana Bread, Heathy Style

4 Mar

Over the last couple of days it seems like everybody is making banana bread.  I had a few banana’s in my freezer, so I thought it was the perfect opportunity to make banana bread.  April posted a banana bread recipe a couple days ago; so I ran it through a points calculator (adding pecans of course) and I was shocked when the calculator read 100 points!  I knew John wouldn’t eat any of it since it contained so many points, so I set to work to try to make it healthier.

Before too long, I did!  I had it down to 29 points!  I made 4 mini loaves with 1 batch, and 1 big loaf with another batch. (I did add some pecans to the larger loaf that are not included in the 29 points.)

Yum!

Banana Bread Recipe (from Katie at Good Things Catered) my changes in blue

Ingredients:
1/2 c. shortening (1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce, I might use more like 3/4 cup next time)
1 c. sugar (1 cup Splenda)
2 eggs (1/2 cup eggbeaters)
1 c. mashed bananas (about 3 medium; the browner, the better!)
3 Tbsp sour cream (I used fat free)
1 Tbsp lemon juice
2 c. flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda

Directions:
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees
-In bowl of stand mixer, cream shortening and sugar.
-Beat in eggs one at a time; then bananas, sour cream, and lemon juice.
-Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.
-Slowly add dry ingredients to mixture.
-Pour into greased and floured 9×5×3 loaf pan.
-Bake for 60 minutes.

This bread is sooo yummy!  John and I both ate quite a bit of it right out of the oven.  It’s definetly not going to stay for too long at our house.

Here are the mini loaves baking in the oven.

banana bread baking

mini loaves

Okay, so I’m a pretty absent minded cook.  Many mishaps happen while I’m in the kitchen, I think it’s because God thinks I’m funny. 🙂 So, I’m going to start relaying them in my blog.  Here’s the first installment.

Funny Cooking Story:

While making this recipe, I got the sour cream out of my fridge.  It was a new container that had never been opened.  So I slipped my finger under the lid to open it and OUCH! What just happened?

 cut

Yup, a “paper cut” on my finger.  I mean seriously, who cuts their finger while opening up a container of sour cream!

12 Responses to “Banana Bread, Heathy Style”

  1. mrsabybaby March 4, 2008 at 10:43 AM #

    Oh yum! I’m glad you guys liked it. I am definitely going to try it the healthy way next time – thanks for always posting your healthy substitutions! : )

  2. Rhonda in OK March 4, 2008 at 10:48 AM #

    your finger looks gross but the bread looks yummy!
    you kids always liked banana bread.

  3. Amanda March 4, 2008 at 2:47 PM #

    Ouch! Those little cuts are the ones that hurt the most! And I must say… this is the first time I’ve ever heard about anyone being injured by a sour cream container. 😉

    The banana bread sounds awesome. I’ve got three extra ripe bananas on my counter right now so if I can convince the husband to go buy me a lemon I’m gonna try your recipe. Thanks for posting it!

  4. CB March 4, 2008 at 3:19 PM #

    ouchy! I hate paper cuts. Looking at yours gave me the chills…

  5. RoRo March 4, 2008 at 4:11 PM #

    Looks good and how does it taste?

  6. NinaBeth March 4, 2008 at 5:56 PM #

    Aby: I do what I can to be healthy, Maybe if I post enough of these, I can not work out?? 😉

    Mom: I love banana bread! I have so many fond memories of you making it for us.

    Amanda: Yes, I definetly think I am the one and only person that dumb, lol! Let me know if you try it!

    CB: I know, ouch!!

    Ro: It tastes unbelieveably good. John couldn’t even tell that I did all the substitutions.

  7. nikki57 March 5, 2008 at 9:30 AM #

    If it makes you feel better I cut my finger so bad on a can of cat food that I had to get stitches. You’re not alone

  8. NinaBeth March 5, 2008 at 9:57 AM #

    Nikki: It does make me feel a little bit better, but a can of cat food is metal, my container was just plastic!

  9. Andrea March 6, 2008 at 9:24 PM #

    I was totally craving that bread on April’s blog but so feared it’s fat/calorie content. I can’t wait to try yours! And ouchy on that cut…extreme closeup much?

  10. NinaBeth March 7, 2008 at 11:39 AM #

    Andrea: Hopefully the closeup doesn’t turn you off to the recipe. It’s delish!

  11. katie102006 April 14, 2008 at 12:37 PM #

    I LOVE your healthy subs! I am really going to have to try this. Thank you!

  12. Shauna June 6, 2008 at 9:50 AM #

    You should check out this contest for the best banana bread recipes. You could win a $50 gift card!!

    http://www.squidoo.com/moist-banana-bread-recipe

    There aren’t very many recipes competing either, so you could probably win it pretty easily!! I could just copy your recipe and win it myself, but that would be cheating. Plus I’m the one sponsoring the contest!!! 🙂

    blessings,
    Shauna

Leave a Reply

