Spaghetti…. sorta….

22 Feb

I got home the other night and I was craving spaghetti.  We all know that spaghetti isn’t WW friendly though… or is it!  While on our last shopping trip I discovered the most delicious pasta, Ronzoni Smart Taste.  This is so yummy.  It doesn’t have the color or hardness that is normally associated with whole wheat pasta.  We compared it with the normal whole wheat pasta we have been buying and it’s lower in Calories, Fat, and Fiber! Yay for pasta I enjoy eating again!

So the pasta problem is solved, now what about sauce…. we didn’t have any sauce in the house, so I figured I’d try my hand at making some.  I’ve seen my mom make it plenty of times, how hard can it really be.  So I sauteed a few onions in the bottom of a pan (more to come on this at the end of the post).  Then I added a can of crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce.  Then I put some water (big mistake) in the sauce, I thought I remembered my mom doing that.  Then added some lots of spices.  I noticed my sauce wasn’t very thick though, it seemed to be like water… oops.  I had the “bright” idea to add cornstarch in the spaghetti sauce to thicken it.  It works for gravy, why not spaghetti sauce!  Much to mine and John’s surprise it actually worked.  John wanted meat in it, so he browned 1 pound of hamburger and added that in the sauce also. 

Here is the result:

Spaghetti

Okay, so remember up there when I said I’d get back to the “sauteeing onions”?  Well, I put the pot on the stove and turned the heat on medium while John cut up the onions.  He put in some onions, I was afraid they’d stick though, so I quickly added a little EVOO to the pot.  Uh-oh, big mistake.  You know on the 4th of July you can buy those smoke bombs?  That’s what it looked like in my pot and kitchen.  The whole kitchen/living room began to fill up with white billowing smoke.  I quickly rushed the pot outside to cool off (It’s 20 something degrees here).  Once it cooled, I brought it back inside to clean the onions out.  Once I scraped the onions out I found this!:

Poor Poor Pot

The best we can figure is the onions caught on fire when the oil was poured in.  We are sooo thankful that no one was hurt in this small fire.  My worry now is that this pot is ruined.  😦  Anybody know of a way this pot can still be salvaged??

7 Responses to “Spaghetti…. sorta….”

  1. CB February 22, 2008 at 8:51 AM #

    eep! onion fire! Me so glad you, J and Zerb are ok. Not sure about the pot but I think its excuse to go out and buy a non-stick now? 😉

  2. NinaBeth February 22, 2008 at 10:18 AM #

    CB: I know! We were very lucky it was a very small fire. Non-stick has it’s purpose, but not on my pots. Just on a couple of pans for eggs. 🙂

  3. RoRo February 22, 2008 at 12:55 PM #

    Clever Nina – putting cornstarch in spaghetti sauce.

  4. Rhonda a.k.a. Nina's momma February 22, 2008 at 2:28 PM #

    i don’t know about your pot and I don’t want to scrub it, but I would try some scouring powder like Comet or Ajax combined with John’s muscles.

    But about the water I put in homemade sauce, I used tomato paste and it is so thick, you have to add water.

    Glad your dinner turned out after all.

  5. Vivsmom February 22, 2008 at 7:26 PM #

    Glad everyone was ok. Don’t know if it will work or not but try putting an inch or water in the pan and bring to a boil. Then let it simmer for a while, just don’t let all of the water evaporate, this may loosen whatever is burned on the pan.
    Good luck!

  6. zebe912 February 22, 2008 at 10:56 PM #

    I have a stainless steel pan that looked like that. That’s why I don’t use stainless steel anymore…too thin and gets too hot. I have all t-fal now and that’s what I prefer for everything. I think I had the best luck getting that off with steel wool and a good degreaser.
    I add water to my sauce too, but only a small amount so that I can have it simmering longer. If I’m trying to get it done quickly then I skip the water.

  7. NinaBeth February 23, 2008 at 4:58 PM #

    Thanks for everybody’s tips. The first thing I tried was Ajax and just a normal washcloth, suprisingly, it all came out! I am so excited I didn’t ruin my pot. I ❤ my stainless steel pots. 🙂

Leave a Reply

