Happy Birthday Zerbie!

15 Feb

Many people wonder how I came to own a Doberman Pinscher.  So here is Zerbie’s story. 🙂

Two years ago in May my roommate was about to move out.  I didn’t really want to find a new roommate, so I decided to live by myself for a year until John graduated College and we got married.  One of my brothers, Bobby, worked for the local animal shelter at the time.  I told him I was looking for a puppy that could protect me.  Two days later, he called me and said he had a 3 month old Doberman that I should get.  John and I went the next day to look at her.  We were a little apprehensive since I had never thought I wanted a large dog, but my brother assured me she’d only be about 50-60 lbs full grown.  So we took her home to get her cleaned up. 

Zerbie's first bath

I should’ve been worried when we took her to the vet in August to get her fixed and she already weighed 50 lbs at just 7 months old, but I didn’t think about it.  She just kept growing and growing.  We think she has finally reached the end of her growing spurt at close to 100 lbs!  She is a small horse!  But she is so full of love and happiness I wouldn’t trade her for anything!

 Since she is a shelter puppy, we don’t know her exact birthday.  We got her the middle of May and she was 3 months old, so we decided to make it Valentine’s Day!  So, in honor of her birthday, I’ll show you some pictures. 🙂

Happy 2nd Birthday Zerbie!

Pictures after the break. 🙂 

Back when she was still small.

Zerbie in John's truck 

Zerbie made John a puzzle to solve the morning of our wedding.

Zerbie's PuzzleZerbie puzzle 

Zerbie and I

Zerbie and I

What’s a birthday without gifts!  Here are her gifts and John’s Valentine’s gifts.

 Table

John had to help her open her gifts.

 Zerbie opening

Zerb

I love my new tug rope!!

Playing

8 Responses to “Happy Birthday Zerbie!”

  1. Deborah February 15, 2008 at 12:50 PM #

    My pup just celebrated his 2nd birthday on the 11th!!

  2. KRMWV February 15, 2008 at 12:58 PM #

    Aww – Happy Birthday Zerbie!

  3. BBKiddo February 15, 2008 at 1:06 PM #

    HolyCrap that is a BIG DOG! So cute though 🙂

  4. NinaBeth February 15, 2008 at 2:00 PM #

    LOL BB! Yes, she is quite large. If she wants to she can put her front feet on my shoulders…. while I’m standing up.

  5. CB February 15, 2008 at 2:12 PM #

    baby zerbie on the car floor is so UBER cute!! I am with BB. Your dog could probably eat me! haha. HAPPY BIRTHDAY ZERBIE! 🙂

  6. RoRo February 15, 2008 at 2:58 PM #

    Fifty-sixty pounds – expect your brother is still laughing!!!

  7. Cakelaw February 16, 2008 at 4:51 PM #

    Happy birthday to Zerbie!!! She is just gorgeous.

  8. Alanna February 18, 2008 at 3:43 PM #

    I love Zerbie….So cute!!! Happy birthday!!!

    You’ve been tagged…see my blog!
    http://artistsinthekitchen.blogspot.com/2008/02/tagim-it.html

Leave a Reply

