Bran Muffins

15 Jan

On of my coworkers, Jennifer brought some yummy bran muffins to work yesterday. They were so tasty, but when I figured out the WW points, they were 2 points a piece. I’m awfully stingy with my “snack” points, so I looked at the recipe to see if I could change some things and get it down to only 1 point a muffin. Mission Accomplished! I brought some of these to work this morning and no one could taste my changes. In fact, the bowl was completely empty in less than 20 minutes!

These muffins are so good, don’t let the name scare you away. John loved these even. I didn’t even think he would taste one, but he ate 4-5 last night while they were cooling.

Bran Muffins

Here is the original recipe and I added my changes in italics.

SARAH’S BRAN MUFFINS

4 C All Bran

2 C Bran Flakes (or cereal of choice) I used Total

2 C sugar OR 1 C honey

1 C oil I used 1 cup unsweetened applesauce

4 eggs I used 1 cup eggbeaters

2 C boiling water

2 t vanilla

4 C buttermilk I used lowfat buttermilk

5 C flour I used whole wheat flour

5 t baking soda

1 t salt

Pour boiling water over cereal (in big bowl). Mix sugar, oil & eggs w/ softened cereal.Mix in salt & soda.Add flour, alternating w/ buttermilk.Add vanilla, mix well.

Bake at 375 for 15-20 mins. Makes 5-6 dozen.

Seving Size: 1 Muffin = 1 WW point

I was on the phone when I was mixing these up, so I didn’t really follow the instructions. I let the cereal soak in the water to soften, then I just mixed everything else in, not in the order listed.

Also, if you can get foil lined muffin liners use those, you can just put them on a regular cookie sheet and make more than 12 at a time since this recipe makes so many.

Oh yea, make sure you have a BIG BIG bowl!

These freeze great too. Just take a couple out, 45 seconds in the microwave and they taste just like they came out of the oven.

3 Responses to “Bran Muffins”

  1. KT January 15, 2008 at 11:29 AM #

    Those look really good!

  2. RoRo January 19, 2008 at 10:06 AM #

    These are very similar to the bran muffins Aunt Bernice made although yours are lower in calories I think. How are you figuring how many WW points are in a serving? And how many points do you eat in a day? Good, good for you losing 5 pounds!!!

  3. Alanna January 19, 2008 at 11:28 PM #

    How did you get the tiny smiley face at the top of your blog? Am I nuts? I swear I see it there…

Leave a Reply

