Italian Stuffed Chicken Breasts, yumm

4 Jan

Who new eating healthy could taste this good?  🙂  One of my friends, KT, told me that I had to try this dish.  She said that her hubby and her loved it. 

One Tiny Pink Kitchen has a bunch of healthy WW (Weight Watchers) recipes on her blog.  I have printed off several to use in the near future.  Here is her blog about this meal (whoa, I think I just figured out how to do links, yay!).  I served the chicken with baked potatoes and a big salad.

Here is a picture from my kitchen.

Italian Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Here is the recipe taken directly from the link above:

Italian Stuffed Chicken Breasts
(source: Kara @ WW)

4 – 4 oz. Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts

1/8 tsp. Salt

3/4 tsp. Dried Basil – divided – I used about 2 tsp total

1/4 tsp. Crushed Red Pepper

1/4 cup Minced Green Bell Pepper – I omitted

4 (3/4 oz) Part-Skim Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

2 Tbsp. Fat-Free Italian Dressing

1/8 tsp. Paprika – I used 1 tsp

1/4 cup Dry Breadcrumbs

1 tsp fresh ground pepper

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp oregeno

Cooking Spray

Pound chicken to 1/4” thickness; sprinkle with salt, 1/4 tsp basil (I didn’t really measure) and crushed red pepper, and garlic powder. Sprinkle each breast with 1 Tbsp. minced bell pepper. Place 1 cheese stick lengthwise down the center; roll up jelly roll fashion. Brush rolls evenly with Italian dressing. Combine paprika and breadcrumbs, and a dash of oregeno and basil; dredge chicken breasts rolls in mixture, turn to coat. Place on a baking sheet coated with non-stick cooking spray – seam side down. Lightly coat with non-stick spray; sprinkle with remaining basil. Bake at 400 for 15 minutes or until done (mine took about 22 minutes). Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

4 servings = 5 POINTS each

So, being the cook that I am, I really didn’t follow this recipe per say.  I didn’t have basil or oregeno so I just used italian seasoning.  I didn’t have garlic powder, so I used garlic salt.  I don’t like bell pepper chucks or crushed red pepper, so I left them out completely.  Let me know what you think if you try it!

5 Responses to “Italian Stuffed Chicken Breasts, yumm”

  1. Rhonda in OK January 4, 2008 at 9:49 AM #

    looks really yummy, kind of like Italian chicken cordon bleu

  2. cuppycakes January 4, 2008 at 11:01 AM #

    I am drooling. Will have to add this to my recipe blog! YUMMERS! 🙂

  3. Deborah January 4, 2008 at 1:34 PM #

    It looks delicious!

  4. the Old Lady Next Door January 4, 2008 at 3:05 PM #

    Looks good!

  5. Suzana January 9, 2008 at 1:21 PM #

    Those look really good! I’m sure it was delicious too.

Leave a Reply

