It’s Peep-tastic!

21 Mar

On Wednesday I was talking to Nikkiand KT (still blog-less 🙂 ) I told them I made marshmallow for my Cupcake Hero entry.  They both mentioned that I should make peeps with the marshmallows.  I almost have peeps already, I just need to cut them into cute shapes and sprinkle with sugar, why not!

Meet the Peeps.

First up we have Little Bunny Peep:

Bunny Peep

Next, Little Chickie Peep:

Chickie Peep

And lastly, we have Little Bo Peep’s Peep:

Lambie

Decorating the peeps were definitely a challenge.  Some may even call it a peeps-capade.  I had to figure out how to make the details on the peeps. Melted chocolate of course! So I grabbed a ziploc baggie and melted some chips.  Everything was great in the world.  I was making record time placing the little eyes on the chickies, but oh no, wait…. what happened!

Graveyard

Yes, it was a gory sight.  These poor little chickies lost their lives due to a faulty ziploc bag.  (Note to self, don’t use Ziploc baggies to decorate with.  They will have a blowout at a very inconvenient time.)  So, me being the brillant person that I am (stop laughing) I decided to use my fancy decorating bags.  I inserted the coupler, put in the chips, microwaved for 1 minute.  I put on my Size 2 tip and began piping.  Success is mine once again!  Ouch, ouch crap! What is on this bag!  Shoot, I melted the bag along with the chocolate.  Oh well, it isn’t anything a little tape won’t cover.

ghetto bag

All in all, it was a great success.  They are sooooo much better than store bought peeps too.  Delicious!

(Yes mom, you will finally get to taste my homemade marshmallows on Easter. 🙂 )

11 Responses to “It’s Peep-tastic!”

  1. Jamie March 21, 2008 at 8:47 AM #

    OMG NINA!! Send me some home-made peeps. They look delicious. My favorite is the little bo-peep’s peep! LOL.

    Peeptastic! 😀

  2. nikki March 21, 2008 at 8:53 AM #

    OMG you put the bag in the microwave … you goof.

  3. NinaBeth March 21, 2008 at 9:38 AM #

    Jamie: You should make them, they are sooo delish!

    Nikki: It seemed like a good idea at the time. 🙂 At least I was smart enough to not put the metal tip in the microwave. 😉

  4. CB March 21, 2008 at 10:28 AM #

    I want the bunny one!! So you cut the marshmallow with cookie cutter? Just plain granulated sugar? How did you color the sugar? and side note: “blow out” makes me think of something very narsty esp after seeing that turd like chocolate blob on your peeps. eewwww! HAHA.

  5. Rhonda in OK March 21, 2008 at 11:47 AM #

    I can hardly wait for my peeps! They are all cute but I think the one with all the chocolate from the blow-out might be my favorite 🙂

  6. Alanna March 21, 2008 at 12:30 PM #

    I LOVE them!!!

  7. RoRo March 22, 2008 at 9:31 AM #

    Nina, the peeps are too, too cute your GM is extremely proud of you! Wish I could enter you in a First Year A Bride contest….

  8. megan March 22, 2008 at 7:08 PM #

    Dibbs on that chocolate covered bunny Peep!

  9. RoRo March 23, 2008 at 5:22 PM #

    Just read your blog again – the Peeps are adorable – such a clever girl you are.

  10. NinaBeth March 24, 2008 at 3:30 PM #

    CB: Come to Oklahoma and I’ll save you a bunny one.

    Mom: The blow-out is saved for you!

    Alanna: Thank ya!

    Ro: I’m so glad you like them. Wish you were here to try them,

    Megan: The chocolate one was devine!

  11. familiabencomo March 24, 2008 at 4:58 PM #

    I love your peeps. You are going to be the most popular mom on the street one day!!!

    Nice manicure too!

    xoxox Amy

Leave a comment